Turnbal Canyon

Had Thai BBQ for dinner and was super full but still looking for something to do. So my cousin had told me a little bit about some of the ghost stories around California and the haunted places people go for ghost hunting. So the story of turnbal canyon pretty much is that cult rituals and sacrifices have been preformed their and that on the top of the hill there is a tree where a people have hung themselves. So we got a few car loads of people drove all the way up there and as we got closer and closer it started to get darker and more haunted looking. I was starting to get creeped out we went up and around the canyon got scared in some parts that were really dark but the full moon kind of lit stuff up and the view was really nice. We all got scared at a random moment and ran for the cars it was quite an eventful night. Everyone was trying to scare each other which was probably the worst because we didn’t actually see anything but It was still a creepy place. Kevin didn't care though he had no fear roaming off by him self down dark places and shit. I’m pretty keen to do it again some time maybe even down under. The car ride home was a cracker though for some reason everyone piled into Alfred’s car and left Marlow, Shelly and I in Marlow’s car. Of course Shelly the bop shotguned the front but DGAF. So on the way home I dunno it was funny because Shelly was still trying to hype up how scary Turnbal Canyon was but by this point Marlow and were pretty much like “diss bop”. We put our heads out the sun roof and did stupid shit like that because it was 3am in the morning haha Shelly flashed Alfred’s car.

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

FOOD in the USA

Is so good almost too good. Well 6 pounds too good… DGAF.

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

The Magic Castle!

I was looking forward to this day so so sooooo much. I love Disneyland and California Adventure I’ve been a few times before but not since I’ve been like a big person. I was there with Cecille (SALI), Shelly (Shellabop), AJ and Marlow. They all had annual passes and Shellabop works at downtown Disney so she got me in free to both the parks. When we got inside we got World of Colour tickets which was a show playing at 11.30 at night which apparently is a must see. We went around and saw a few of the Disney characters in toon town. But ahhh we lined up for like half an hour to go in Minnie Mouses’ house and get a photo with her and then I blinked in the photo! I am so cut at that bop. So we get in the house it is like 2 rooms big and it sucks hahaha only disappointing part of the day. We went on the Peter Pan ride which was amazing one of my faves. But we started the day with the twilight zone’s Tower of Terror. I thought it would be a simulated ride but it has the same sort of thrill as Dreamworld’s giant drop just not as high but constantly up and down… IN THE DARK… ahh I was really scared. Marlow tricked me real good. We went on “it’s a small world” for shits n’ giggles but if you live in California you have probably been on that ride like a 1000 times. Got a churro and a pretzel of course it was so yummy im glad Shelpbop convinced me to get it. I got some Mickey Mouse ears to be a uber tourist but they wouldn’t print the word “gobbies” on it strictly only names. I was bumed. Went on a few more rides like the materhorn and Indiana Jones and then at night I went on the epic SPACE MOUNTAIN… I was in a good state lets just say for the evening at Disneyland. The fireworks were amazing I really agree that this place is magical (as lame as that might sound) during world of colour I pretty much cried because it was so awesome haha its hard to explain what it is but watch the link I post and then imagine being their it was fantastic. I couldn’t stop singing that stupid world of colour for like weeks. Such an epic, epic day.

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

Bear Flag Republic @ Seldner House

I was really busy in the states and didn’t get to comment on my little adventures so I’m just going to recap on it all I guess. So at the end of the first week my cousin Marlow had a show in LA. I was super keen to go and the crowd of people at the venue were really chill and I liked that. Some of the acts that started were Shoot Guns and Fish, Fort Wife, Carlee Hendrix and Water Colour Paintings. Most of the acts played predominantly acoustic sets that gave a relaxed atmosphere. Water Colour Paintings stood out to me with their unique two-piece, harp + ukulele sounds so I got their CD and I actually have been really enjoying it. The night was getting later and everyone had sunk a few beers and it was time for Bear Flag Republic to play. Seeing them practise a few times I thought I had an idea of what the show would be like but they exceeded what my expectations were and it was an awesome set. Lead singer Jesus’ (pronounced he-zus…..mexican douche) lyrics were fantastic and the overall sound is very full. They said they hadn’t really worked out what genre they were but they are recording over the next few months and I’m looking forward to it. Such a good night out even got lucky and didn’t get in trouble from Angelique’s parents for getting her home so late hahaha. Great shot of AJ on drums as well below… cheers.

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket


Melrose Ave.

Went to Melrose Ave a few days ago to do a bit of shopping which was really fun. I got to visit the American Apparel warehouse, wasteland, American vintage and urban outfitters. I got bits and pieces from all of them but I’m still yet to go there again and do a bit more shopping. I went with Angelique and my cousin Marlow and we got Johnny Rockets for lunch. Epic burger but we were a bit short on the tip so we bailed quick smart.

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

WOAH HUNX @ THE SMELL

So I’ve been in LA for three days now and it’s been really busy but I’ve managed to get some down time early this morning. Tonight I went to The Smell which is a pretty diverse venue for live music. It has a very welcoming audience that are super into love music which was awesome. HEALTH, Abevigoda and The Me She are a few other acts that have played their before too. The band that headlined tonight “WOAH HUNX” is a LO-FI/Noise band from Echo Park. I found them really interactive and haven’t been to a show like that in ages where the crowd got really wild and actually weren’t afraid to let loose. I’m a big fan of female lead vocalist’s especially when the music is pretty hard and they happened to have one who got right into it with the crowd… Wasn’t shy at all. It got so intense in some parts people were hitting the deck right into the drum kit and even the mic stand. After the show the band were outside chilling having a smoke so I decided to have a chat with them and even scored a picture with the lead singer which was pretty tight. I’m really happy my cousin Marlow and his friends took me out for the night the venue was sick and the music was intense. The smell has live music every night and only charges $5 entry. I kind of wish this sort of shit was on every night in Brisbane. Anyway I’m real tired but I got some footage. Quality is super low but yea sorry.


PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket




WSS

After winning two tickets for winter sounds I was pretty stoked and was able to sell one to Molly to afford the necessary “equipment” for the big day ahead. The night before winter sounds I went to Mark Jeffery’s (Hamish Jeffery’s dad) 50th. It was a fun night, lots of alcohol provided and a lot of close people celebrating. What was funny was some of my old teachers from primary school were there and still think I’m the shit but one of the caters there was a teacher from the school I do prac at so I behaved for a bit but when she left I smashed some opium into my veins. Lol Jk (fucking lame) I just got really drunk and stayed up longer than expected. The next day I woke up really late and rushed to Molly’s for WSS pre drinks. It was pretty sick and I got to hear stories from Bennet’s stripper night the night before. So after a lot of drinks Bennet drove us to the festival and we were pretty retarded we got there for most of Felix Cartel and all of Laidback Luke. Emma Tallon was pretty loose and had what I’d like to call a “natural” cod face going on for hours. Oh yea. Sun came down and Crookers played which disappointed me so much they were average then from there it was a blue but I know I saw Proxy, Tiga and Steve Aoki. They were all sick… I think. I just reckon it’s lame Steve plays warp twice in his set (did it at the family to). Speaking of Steve, Hamish Marhoney managed to bump into him but did get much out of him because he was pretty focused but my guess is he’s just a cunt with a macbook pro who has some lame as cobra snake slut as a gf. Woopsies sorry ultra-hipster Steve not trying to be a hater. I also bumped into Laidback Luke after his set and the guy loves to party he got me 4 vodka redbulls and had a bit of a chat I was pretty stoked I think he watched some of the other artists set as well but was just laying low. People might have been to munted to recognise him haha.

A few funny faces dragged me along to Claudia’s when the festival was over and we all smashed some vodka and decided to goto mono. Nadastrom was playing which was sick but there was some big fight on the D-floor I have never seen anything like that out it was wild a few people got arrested and stuff apparently I dunno but yea pretty wild. I spoke shit with Michael on the chop box about how for more than 12 hours we’ve just been dancing to electro/house music and I wanna go home. Then I told Molly, Kellie and Tash that I missed my Mum and realised it was time to go home… So we did but overall it was a good day. I’m gonna aim to pace myself during these big days but overall it was great!

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket