Pow-Pow by LCD Soundsystem

I have just spent far too much of my time trying to figure out how to upload mp3's on to this blog considering how much work I have to do. I also joined way to many websites claiming to be able to upload mp3's that didn't work. But I think it will be worth it for this song.



- Calum

HEY!

I love this song… The XX remix is sweet as well but I watched this clip the other night when I was feeling good and it was awesome. Enjoy!

Trashwolves Launch

Trashwolves took place last Saturday on the 8th of May but my delay in writing as been due to my extremely busy life at the moment. MOTHERFUCKING UNI, CAR FINES, WORK AND COMEDOWNS! Anyway I’m sorry I yelled but I did thoroughly enjoy trashwolves. I kicked off this night by drinking at Mks with a few of the boys. We started here because it was Mks 19th and he was excited to get amongst it. Ed and I jumped in a car with Jordie and headed to the Herston house to drink more and so Jordie could get his shit and we could get there early for Hameon’s set. On arrival I looked at Ed and went in my head, “wow we are a lot drunker than I thought.” But we got inside had a few more drinks saw Hameon and Ben and shit and I was excited. Hameon was tearing it up on the decks, which was soon followed by Hogan, Smith and Hamish. They all did really well and I wish it wasn’t such a blur. I also went round to the other room to check out the live bands and bumped into mah lil asian pal Chingi who was helping set up all the equipment. I saw the crashlights with my friend Calum (also writes on this blog), which I was enjoying, and I met some cute Canadian girl, which I was enjoying more. I’m such an asshole. I like say to her trying to be all cute and shit, “aww Canada that’s so sick I’m going there in July after LA. I’m just not that was a blatant lie but I needed to lay some groundwork. I lost her and kept being a wandering soul amongst the now extremely loose crowd of people… I left trashwolves at about midnight regrettably but the reason’s I left I won’t disclose on here. I was at mono then empire (both dead) and bumped into a few friends. Tim just informed me we spoke shit for a while but that usually happens because Tim is 100% of the time naturally stoned. His dad fed him hashbrownies when was a fetus. I just think overall it was really good to see heaps of people from school most of whom I actually like haha and yea dance to your friends shit for a chance instead of Danny T the cunt who hates how I’m chopped at all his gig…Fuck you cunt the guy next to me is on meth and the chick behind me shafted dingers…. Hamish and Hameon and shit I’m sure loved that we were all fucked to some degree…. But yea thanks heaps to Smith, Ben and any other contributors to the event. Also thanks to Lauryn the photos turned out sick. I put photos from my camera on here because anyone can access yours on the trashwolves facebook page (add it to see if you got snaped). Next trashwolves is in July I hope to make it but chances are I may be in LA AHHHHH….. Lack of paragraphs in this post.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket


Why Your Favourite Albums Didn’t get 10/10


Rolling Stone’s

Because it’s not from the eighties


Some random news paper

Who gives a crap, it’s a newspaper


Metacritic

Because true geniuses are hated by the majority until they die


This blog

Because we’re correct and you’re wrong


The New York Times

I’m not sure if you’re getting the idea of this


Pitchfork

Their not on drugs


Metacritic

Because they have no opinion of their own


NME

No indie hype


MSN consumer guide

Too American


Billboard

The only people to ever buy music in America are 12 year old girls who have no taste


-Calum





Crystal Castles (ii)

The new Crystal Castles album is upon us and it’s creatively named Crystal Castles (ii). I‘m listening to it right now and have almost everyday for the past two weeks (since I purchased it). I am an extremely big Crystal Castles fan and enjoyed their first album immensely. I think that Crystal Castles (ii) is just as good as the first album but I haven’t come to the conclusion which one I like better. I think Crystal Castles (ii) has more tracks that are softer than Alice Glass’s usual rash vocals backed by hard, layer electro fuzz. I have not even the slightest idea what any of the tracks are about yet or what the underlying message of the album is but I find it very entertaining.

My favorite tracks at the moment are probable Baptism, Pap Smear and Suffocation. I love Baptism because of dynamic live value. When I saw this live I cried because I was on a lot of shit and Alice kissed me on the cheek… But not only that, it is a terrific song live. Pap Smear is great because Crystal Castles seem to bury the vocals in the song. There is also a lot happening lots of different sounds and layering but not to much where its overwhelmingly shit. Suffocation, well I just really like the reoccurring loop, which builds up at the end. The last 30 seconds there are no vocals just the loop… it’s sick.

I rate this album really highly and I don’t whether it’s because of my overall love for Crystal Castle or I just really like it. Time will tell. I just have it on so much that I hope I don’t get over it….. Rahhh that’s impossible. So you can get it at the moment on itunes which is what I did or you can wait for the CD release in a month. Peace.

Crystal castles Pictures, Images and Photos

Alice Pictures, Images and Photos


creamfields

Creamfields was a very underestimated day I have to say with very little build up. It just kind of crept up on everyone. Timmeh Lingard and I were going to just take it easy all weekend and starting get loose on the Monday morning of creamfields but we couldn’t resist and ended up getting drunk and stoned and wrestled over a mattress that either of us even slept on, on Saturday night. Monday morning Timmeh and Keato picked me up and we were epically psyched we all goto Molly’s house and started getting wasted and taking photos to ready for the epic event. Hameon was wearing a skelton suit he got off ebay for $10 if I remember correctly and I thought that was pretty sick. So as more drinks got thrown down and more photos were taken it was obvious shit was gonna get hetic. Well I actually got real messy probably more than I should have but excitement took over and I racked up. I was trying to do the infamous cod face that emma and molly pull of so well but I failed damm....

Ahhh I know you got a whole 10 hours of music what ever save it but nup couldn’t do it. We missed the train because Keato left his ticket at Mollys so we just cabbed which was an awesome idea. Someone yelled really loud in my ear in the cab but I cant remember. So we got there and went to Lifelike I think which was pretty sweet we left and got drink a few time but then I drifted over and saw NOY vs. Luki to support some local talent and yes it was worth it they gave it everything. I also saw Keen? earlier who is also a local and resident at empire and he failed to disappoint. It was during dirty south where I looked back and saw the dilated pupils of my crazy friends that I said to myself in my head this “this is fucking sick” Ben’s funny little grins and ‘ just.. ahhh hameon’s general appearance in a crazy costume was starting to make my day. I forgot Hayleigh Dunne is also extremely racist. But yea sunset eventually and tommy sunshine and his stripper girlfriend entertained terrel and cargil a fair bit…. Once again captured by Molly Hampshire. I was wiped by now and I lost everyone and was walking around like a retarded kid at Disneyland ahhh.. I found Hamish and we went to mstrkrft I enjoyed this heaps. We went to betroots and I got smacked around a bit but it was all in fun… I was kinda cut after when it was raining because it was so could. Then my mum got me from tombul and I went home and slept ahhh woke up and taught year one kids…. That’s my life hey what a contrast caps vs crayons…. Anyway thanks to everyone I saw on the day who made it more funny and awesome even if you weren’t mentioned it was epic… bring on trashwolves…

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket